Body Image and Media

On Facebook, a fellow group member shared something that has forced me to look inward: “I find lately everywhere I turn, messages are telling me I am not a real woman…#doomed..”…this is for her.

My response was that the media has its own agenda and that as a woman, actually, as an individual we should figure out our own agendas and not deviate from it.  What is the media’s agenda?  I don’t know.  After all, men are required to be violent, sexist, racist, and homophobic.  Women are expected to give on-demand blow jobs, make a sandwich and shut up – not necessarily in that order.

The fashion industry coupled with the entertainment industry seems to be geared towards creating a negative body image among the 99%.  Not just that, I have noticed a disturbing trend among non-stereotypically beautiful who now sow hate in their hearts for those that are stereotypically beautiful.  If you cannot accept another person for being beautiful, then how do you expect to love yourself when time wreaks its havoc over all that you held to be true and beautiful?  Coco Rocha is tall, slim, and white – she is beautiful.  Jill Scott is curvy, talented and black – she is beautiful.  Michelle Yeoh is tall, slim, and Chinese – she is also beautiful.  Alicia Keys is curvy, talented and mixed – she is also beautiful.  Sophia Loren is Italian, curvy, 60 and still sexier than most 20-year-olds.

What is your agenda?  Who are you now vs. where you want to be?  Figure out your agenda and work towards it.  One morning, I woke up and decided to be beautiful.  I understood my own beauty was not mirrored in the fashion magazines or on television.  I was told I was too smart to be beautiful.  I decided to cover my mirror and turn my mental headphones to LOUD!  I was now marching to the music of my own inner peace.  I smiled a gap-toothed, coffee-stained smile and declared myself beautiful.

–ND

3 thoughts on “Body Image and Media

  1. Thanks for writing this…especially since it’s for me and all! *blushes. It really is true that everywhere we turn we are bombarded by messages telling us what a real woman should be…or what an ideal woman should look like etc etc. Unfortunately for many of us, these are the ideals we strive to achieve. The fashion/beauty industry’s agenda is to make sales—so ofcourse, we’re not good enough as we are. It takes a strong sense of self and some self-worth to be able to ignore such messages..messages that don’t build us but instead..prey on our inadequacies–real or imagined. You’re 100% right…we need to declare our own beauty and not have anything define this for us. I am beautiful…so screw anyone who thinks otherwise.

Leave a Reply

